The Eglinton Gallery would be occupied at morning worship by the Earl of Eglinton and his family along with members of his household.
Access was available through the door at the rear from the Eglinton Room which avoided the need to enter the gallery through the congregation.
In cold weather a welcome fire was available in the Eglinton Room.
The screen was erected from a generous gift made by John Cole-Hamilton and was dedicated on 10 June 1990.
It was erected in memory of Mr Cole-Hamilton’s father, Col A.R. Cole-Hamilton who died at Gallipoli on 15th August 1915, his mother Sarah who died on 18th September 1942 and his wife Gladys who died on 4th October 1989. Mr Cole-Hamilton died on 10th November 1991.
The Screen incorporates the Cole-Hamilton shield and the seal of the Abbot of Kilwinning. It also displays the healing plants used by the monks in the Abbey of Kilwinning.
The tapestry on the west wall was created by members and friends of the Abbey Church to celebrate the 800th anniversary of the founding of Kilwinning Abbey. It includes representations of all the churches and schools in Kilwinning.
The three manual organ built by Forster & Andrews of Hull was first played on 29th December 1897 and is highly regarded for its quality. It was installed at a cost of £750. The mechanism of the organ is still in its original state apart from the installation of an electric motor. On this basis the British Institute of Organ Studies (BIOS) awarded the instrument at Kilwinning Old a Grade 1 Historic Organ Certificate. This is the highest grade of certificate, awarded to organs of outstanding historic and musical importance in essentially original condition.